First Date / Book Tag

1. The awkward first date – a book where something felt off. It wasn’t a bad book, but lacked that spark for you.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo had an interesting concept going on but something was lacking for me. I think the characters were underwhelming. The only character I found interesting was The Darkling. I overall loved the story line so I hope that the main character (and Mal) get more developed in Siege and Storm.

2. The cheap first date –a book that turned out less than you expected

★★

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. The problem here was the hype. We were getting only positive reviews from people that got ARCs and I hyped myself up for this book. The story and the setting were bland. The descriptions were not whimsical and I felt like the author only scratched the surface. The story nor the characters had any depth. Stephanie’s writing was too simple for this story. When I hear carnival , I expect a lush and poetic writing style that fits the setting which I didn’t get. The characters were so boring and one dimensional so ultimately this turned out to be less than I expected.

3. Well-prepared first date – better than expected

When I read the synopsis for The Kiss of Deception, I thought this was going to be a cliché fantasy story but oh boy I was wrong. The first book does contain some typical YA tropes (love triangle) but the next books get so complex and interesting, it kind of blows my mind. The politics are definitely the most developed and complex aspect of this series. If you enjoy romance with politic intrigue, I highly recommend this series.

4. Hot but dumb – pretty book, not so hot on the inside

★★

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

This book was a huge disappointing for me. The cover is absolutely stunning but Alexandra’s writing style was horrible for me. I felt like I couldn’t get through a sentence without falling a sleep. I have no idea why but her writing is heavy. The concept of this story sounded promising but ultimately fell flat for me. But what a nice cover!

5. Blind date – book you picked up not knowing anything about it

★★★★

Strange the Dreamer By Laini Taylor.  Booktubers and bloggers kept saying “go into this book without knowing anything” and I did that and I agree. This book is so mysterious, you need to go into it blind. It such a delight to discover the world that Laini Taylor has created. I did the same for Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I have never been disappointed with her books.

6. Speed dating – book you read super fast

★★★★★

The Host by Stephenie Meyer.  I read this 620 page book in 2 days! I was studying for test, I decided to pick up this book and ended up finishing the day after. I was so engrossed with the story and the characters, I couldn’t stop reading. When I wasn’t reading it, I was constantly thinking about it.

7. The rebound – a book you read too soon after a book hangover and it kind of ruined the book for you

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I read this one after reading the whole Throne of Glass series in one go and I was so overwhelmed by that series that I never finished An Ember in the Ashes but I’ll pick it back up in the future.

 

8. Overly enthusiastic date – a book that felt like it was trying too hard

★★

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. This book was trying too hard to be a creepy, thriller YA book. I just couldn’t stand anyone in this story and the intrigue and suspense was lack luster.

9. The perfect first date – book that did everything right for you

★★★★★

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor did everything right for me.

  1. interesting and captivating characters
  2. forbidden love story
  3. magical and inventive world
  4. beautiful writing style

10. Humiliating first date – book you’re embarrassed to admit you liked/ embarrassed to see reading in public for whatever reason

I’ll never be embarrassed by what I read but a cringy covers were definitely the original covers for the Off Campus by Elle Kennedy. I waited to buy the new covers because I couldn’t read the books where you have half naked men on the cover. No thank you!

9 thoughts on “First Date / Book Tag

  1. That’s interesting what people said about Strange the Dreamer – I also went into it knowing almost nothing about it, which in retrospect was good… though I wonder if it would really have changed my experience I’d known more? I guess that’s impossible to answer. Anyway, I loved the book too! And also love Daughter of Smoke and Bone 🙂

    That’s a shame about Passenger… such a nice cover!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think my experience wouldn’t have the same enjoyment factor. I loved how we were going on this big trip to discover Weep with Lazlo. I wouldn’t have wanted to know anything because I loved discovering these intriguing characters and strange world.

      Yes, I am so disappointed by Passenger which is so sad because it has a beautiful cover.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I highly recommend reading or watching reviews because apparently a lot of people had the same issue as me. Maybe try a sample to see if you like her writing style?

      Like

  2. Pingback: First Date Book Tag | mousaibookscom

Leave a Reply

