Reading wrap up / June 2017

The Darcy Monologues edited by Catherine Boyd

I don’t think it’s a secret anymore that I am an unapologetic fangirl for everything Pride & Prejudice related. When I saw this book on Goodreads, I had to read it! After some complications the editor and one the authors sent me a paperback copy of it. In this anthology you get 15 stories related to P&P. Every story has its own interpretation and twist. The first half is set in the regency era and the other stories in other eras. Every story amazed me with its originality. One was set in WW II and overall this is a must-read for every P&P fan! I might do a more in depth review if someone is interested.

I haven’t read a book that I disliked this month. I enjoyed every book I picked up. I had 2 weeks of exams so I didn’t have a lot of time to read so I only chose books I was sure I was going to like.

Now I Rise by Kiersten White

★ , YA Fantasy

This is the sequel to And I Darken, which was one of my favorite reads of last year. I received an eARC in exchange for a honest review. You can check out my review here but it contains spoilers for And I Darken. I can’t see more because this is a sequel but I would highly recommend this dark fantasy series.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay

★.5 , Adult Historical Fiction

This was almost a five star book but something holds me back from giving it a full five stars. One of the most important aspects for a 5-star-worthy book is well developed characters which this book lacks. In this Historical Fiction we follow two story lines that weave together. We follow in 2002 Julia Jarmond, a French American journalist, who researches le Vélodrome d’Hiver where a lot of Jews where held by the French police and later executed in different concentration camps. Julia is a very unhappy person that is very conflicting. You sympathize with her but you also want to slap her sometimes. Julia is about to move into her husband’s grandmother apartment but while she is researching Le Vél d’Hiver she realizes that in this apartment a Jewish family used to live. Julia slowly unravels years of secrets that links this Jewish family to her husband’s family. This story is eye-opening and shows a darker part of the French history. This was a very emotional read and I wouldn’t recommend it if you are going through a though time. I had to read it for my oral French exam and I ended loving it. Definitely a book that is going to stick with me for a long time.

I also highly recommend the movie!

Worth the Fall by Claudia Connor

★ , NA Romance 

Abby is a single mother of 4 children, she brings them to the beach where she meets Matt, a Navy SEAL. They instantly connect and he slowly grows closer to the 4 children while they are on vacation. Abby is afraid to get closer to Matt because her husband (now dead) used to be always absent and Matt is a SEAL so he is often gone on mission. They start this very passionate relationship. This could have been a generic NA book but these children make this story line original. They are all unique and well developed and you grow attached to them. Definitely the best part of this story. I took a star off because the second half got a little too melodramatic for my taste. I recommend this NA read!

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

★ , Chick-lit Romance 

Nemesis (n.)
1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome;
2) A person’s undoing;
3) Joshua Templeman.

My original rating for this book was 4 stars but now listening to the audiobook the story has gotten even better. I just absolutely love every aspect of this romance. The “enemies-to-lovers” trope is executed perfectly in this book. If you like an office romance with smut this is for you. The romance and comedic relief was well balanced.

 

7 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / June 2017

Leave a Reply

