Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag / Book Tag

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

The Host by Stephenie Meyer (Sci-Fi)

I was a big fan of Twilight years ago but never read The Host. I kept hearing a lot of praise for The Host so I decided to read it. This was such a great surprise till this day I can’t stop thinking about it. I normally don’t like Science Fiction but the Sci-Fi aspect was not heavy for me. We follow Wanda, a host that has invaded earth with her race. I got really quickly attached to her and the other characters. Wanderer (Wanda) has been given Melanie’s body as a host. Melanie’s soul refuses to relinquish possession of her mind. Melanie fills Wanda mind with flashbacks of her past with her brother and boyfriend.

This book was a breath of fresh air. I loved Wanda and Melanie. I loved all of the characters and especially Ian and Wanda and Melanie’s brother. The close knit family aspect was wonderful. The love that I felt for this story and its characters slowly crept up on me and I highly recommend it!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (Urban Fantasy)

Oh man Cassie Clare just killed me with this sequel. We follow every character’s POV and adventure. The plot line becomes more complex and I loved it! The romantic development between characters were perfection. I loved every aspect of this book. I can’t wait 2 years for the next book!

 

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

The Darcy Monologues edited by Christina Boyd

This is an anthology of 15 stories inspired by Pride and Prejudice. Now, you know that P&P is my favorite classic and book of all time. I love Elizabeth and Darcy. We get 15 stories inspired by P&P so I am in heaven. I can’t wait to read and I have no excuse for not reading it because I received a copy of Jenetta Jones (one of the authors). The editor kindly sent me a copy because I couldn’t get it in Belgium.

4. Most anticipated release for the second-half of the year

Originally, I would have answered Now I Rise By Kiersten White but I am currently reading an eARC of it.

5. Biggest disappointment.

A Court of Wings and Ruin By Sarah J. Maas

*unpopular opinion* I still feel very conflicted and I don’t know what to rate it. A Court of Mist and Fury was my favorite book of last year and I had super high expectations for this finale book and it fell kind of short for me. I was set up for failure. I loved what happened but there were some aspects I would have loved seeing more of for example Amren! I hope that the next books in this series will deliver. I in no way hated this book but I was expecting for of it.

6. Biggest surprise.

★★★★.5

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett (YA, Contemporary)

Wow, I was so surprised by this book! Firts of all, I rarely like a YA Contemporary book but this was such a big surprise for me. I just absolutely fell in love with this book inspired by You’ve Got Mail. The characters were great and their banter was amazing. Check out my review here.

 

 

 

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Kristin Hannah who wrote The Nightingale is my new favorite author. Her writing style is beautiful and I loved The Nightingale.

8. Newest fictional crush.

Cassian from ACOWAR became my new fictional crush.

9. Newest favourite character.

Allucard from A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab.

10. Book that made you cry.

★★★★★

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah.

I was bawling my eyes out for the last quarter of this book. I can’t say why because I don’t want to spoil anyone.

11. Book that made you happy.

★★★★★

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Kate Rorick and Bernie Su

A modern Pride & Prejudice retelling never fails to make me happy.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay and its movie.

Both were masterpieces. (Please read the book and watch the trailer & movie!!!)

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

It’s coming up on the 27th of June, it’s a review for Now I Rise by Kiersten White.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag / Book Tag

Leave a Reply

