Reading wrap up / May 2017

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

★★★★★

*spoilers for Lady Midnight* This was an amazing sequel to Lady Midnight. It ticked all of my boxes to get a five stars.We get almost everyone’s pov which was wonderful. We get to know all of the Blackthorn siblings and I feel like we got enough to get attached to them. We follow every sibling and we get different plot lines that probably will come to get together in the last book. Kit and Ty’s relationship is so cute, I love the duo and how they compare themselves to Sherlock and Watson. Livvy,  Ty & Kit working together was everything I wanted. We get some cameo’s from Clary & Jace and surprisingly also from Alec and Magnus. They played an important role in LoS and I was so happy them together. I am really happy that Cassie didn’t start a love triangle between Emma , Julian and Mark. Emma and Julian chemistry is through the roof in LoS. We see a lot of set up for the next book and the ending broke my heart, I can’t wait for the final book but we are only getting it in 2 years. Whatttt! I really want to see Kieran and Mark together but I feel like you can ship Mark with everyone. Christina and Diego was a ship that kind of sunk in LoS so no hope there. Emma and Julian have to get together but I am scared of what Julian might sacrifice to get Emma. Ty and Kit are up in the air. Overall I don’t trust Cassandra Clare with the final book, she already ripped my heart in this sequel. This is by far the strongest plot line we have gotten from Cassie.

 

 

I wanted to give manga’s a second chance by reading this M/M romance but it was so disappointing. The popular forces almost something with this guy that is unpopular. I liked their friendship, where they confided in each other and telling each other’s fears. The character developing is lacking. The romance feels forced. I don’t even remember the characters’ names nor the title of the manga. I think it’s time to give up on mangas.

 

 

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas or rather A court of conflicted emotions

This was a almost satisfying conclusion. ACOWAR had some great diversity that was lacking in her previous books. I think that my biggest problem with this conclusion was Feyre’s pov. We should at least have gotten Rhys’ pov throughout the novel. I wanted a lot of things (ACOWAR theories) but I got barely what I wanted. I know that it’s not my work but I thought it was obvious we were going to get these things. Feysand’s chemistry was also lacking sometimes. I wasn’t the same as ACOMAF were you could taste their chemistry. You can find my ‘review’ here or rather bullet point list / sum up of all the things I liked and disliked.

★★★★★

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

 

★★★

Anything can happen once upon a con…

This was again kind of a disappointing contemporary. This is supposed to be a Cinderella retelling with a fandom as backdrop. Ella lives with her horrible stepmother and stepsisters. She has to work in The Magic Pumpkin (a food truck) where she sells vegetarian snacks. She suddenly becomes friends with her coworker and they start watching Starfield together. Ella and her father were big fans of Starfield and her father started a con for Starfield before his passing away. Ella waits of the big reveal,the actor that will play the Carmindor role in the reboot. When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet. My biggest problem was that this relied on text messages and for me that’s not enough to develop something between the two main characters. They only meet 70% into the book which was way too late for me to feel anything.

Before I Ever Met You by Karina Halle

  • NA romance
  • physical abuse

This was exactly what I needed to get out of my reading slump. It was a fun, quick read. The romance and chemistry was exactly what I liked. The main character , Jackie,  is a single mother with a cute seven year old son. After a bad relationship with the father of her son , she decides to move back to her parents’ place. Her father gives her a job as the secretary for his partner in his production company. After years, she sees her father’s business partner again. He is recently divorced and handsome. They slowly start growing closer to each other and Will slowly becomes a permanent part of  Jackie and her son’s life.

4 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / May 2017

  1. Hey I’m actually reading Lord of Shadows right now on my kindle and it’s amazing!! I’m almost finished but it made me SO happy that Magnus and Alec came into the story so much! The first two books in the last of other books you read are on my tbr! 😊 Well, kinda; I plan on staying a court of thorns and roses pretty soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LoS is so amazing because we get these cameos from TMI. I was especially excited to see Magnus again! I don’t want to spoil anything but his scenes with Alec were perfection! I hope you get to ACOTAR, the second one is amazing. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

