Reading wrap up / April 2017

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

  • 512 pages
  • Adult, Fantasy

We follow in the first book Kell & Lila’s shenanigans. In this sequel we mainly follow Lila on her adventure. She joins a crew and continues stealing. It was really hard to see how Kell was being treated by the king & queen. The beginning is slow but it didn’t bother me because I loved seeing Kell & Rhy’s banter and Lila being badass on a ship. I love the character that we are introduced to, he was a great add to the cast. I will not going into any details because this is a sequel and I don’t want to spoil anything. If you like magical tournaments, Kell & Lila pining after each other, Rhy and ….(spoiler) off the charts chemistry and pirates, you will love this sequel.Overall this was action packed and contained some of my favorite scenes.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

  • 460 pages
  • Fantasy, Adventure and Contemporary

This was required reading and I didn’t finish it (Yikes). I know, I am a bad student. The beginning is so boring, Pi’s internal monologues drove me crazy. Pi is such an unrealistic teenager for me. I felt so disconnected for me so it was impossible for me to like this book. The main thing that makes me love a book is its character(s). If I don’t connect to them, I will give up on the book. If you convince me down below to give it a second chance, I might try to read it again.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  • 626 pages
  • New Adult, Fantasy

My review of ACOMAF (if you want more details)

I loved rereading ACOMAF so much! I loved the experience of reading it while knowing the plot twist and I noticed so many things that I didn’t catch the first time. I highly recommend rereading ACOMAF before reading ACOWAR because there is some much information & world building in this sequel. I loved Rhysand, Feyre and the Inner Circle. I can’t stop fangirling about this book so I am going to keep it brief and just say read it! If you want to read my predictions for ACOWAR, you can find my post here.

The Raven King & The King’s Men by Nora Sakavic

  • 286 pages & 370 pages
  • Contemporary, Sport
  • Trigger Warning : almost everything (rape, violance, self harming, homophobia,…)

We follow Neil Josten , the son of a crime lord called The Butcher. He has been on the run with his mother for a long time. He gets recruited to this sport team called The Foxes. The Foxes are a sports team full of delinquent boys and girls. Exy is a made-up co-ed sport that is a mix between lacrosse and racquetball but as violent as ice hockey.

This is the second & third book in the All for the Game series. The second book was slow and nothing really happened but I loved following this cast of strange characters. The second half is way stronger and sets up a lot for the third book. The final book was my favorite book by far in this series. We finally see Neil & Andrew get together. There were some intense scenes in this book. Neil & Andrew’s chemistry was off the charts. Read this series please! It doesn’t matter if you don’t like contemporary because this is in its own category.

Him by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

  • New Adult, M/M , Romance
  • 360 pages

They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?

I love Elle Kennedy’s book so I had to read this book. I finally picked it up this month and I loved it. The quote perfectly sums up this book. We follow Ryan Wesley, a gay hockey player, who was once Jamie’s best friend. They used to go to this summer hockey camp but one summer got a little too hot and Ryan realized he had feelings for Jamie so he decided to put an end to their friendship. We follow Jamie & Ryan from alternating chapters and we get both their perspective of what happened that summer. Ryan and Jamie reconnect and both decide to coach this summer’s hockey camp. Jamie finds out why Ryan cut him out and you slowly see their relationship develop. There are some super steamy scenes and I loved their romance a lot! This is one of my favorite New Adult books for sure!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

  • 544 pages
  • YA, Fantasy

This is for sure one of the strangest books I have ever read. The story and the characters are unique and refreshing. We follow Lazlo Strange , an orphan , librarian, who is fascinated by this mysterious city Weep that disappeared mysteriously. Laini’s writing style is absolutely breathtaking and out of this world. I do feel that her writing is sometimes hard to get used to me but once you are hooked, it’s impossible to stop reading it. I recommend reading this book without knowing too much. The ending killed me and I shed some tears, I can’t wait till next year!

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennet

  • 391 pages
  • YA, contemporary (You’ve Got Mail retelling)

The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

This book was a strong contender for the stop as my favorite book of the month. I read this book in two sittings and it’s probably my new favorite YA Contemporary book. I am not a fan of Contemporary but I was intrigued by its synopsis and I am a sucker for the “hate to love” trope so I decided to download the ebook. I read this on my flight to Greece and I couldn’t hold my laugh while reading it. This book was perfection, I loved it so much that I ordered a hardcover for my library. I also watched You’ve Got Mail and reviewed both here.

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  • 352 pages
  • Adult, Contemporary

a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

Phew! This book messed with my feelings a lot. I was surprised by Taylor’s writing style. Her writing is poetic and beautiful. This book contains some of my favorite quotes and life lessons. I feel like you should go into this book without knowing a lot and just experience it. I still don’t know if I am happy with the ending but I respect Taylor’s decision and I do agree with everything she says in this book. You will not tissues while reading it.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  • 315 pages
  • Mystery , Thriller

I feel very conflicted about this book. We mainly follow Rachel, a raging alcoholic, who rides the same train every morning and evening the train. She is particularly fascinated by this “perfect” couple who she nicknames Jess (Meghan) and Jason . One day, she sees something strange and it’s chatters this perfects story she has made up in her head. Rachel gets involved in a disappearance and gets obsessed by it. Rachel is also hung up on her divorce, ex-husband who is married to Anna (mistress) and with whom he has a child. I felt unsettled while reading this book. Rachel is an unlikable main character but I felt really bad for her throughout the book. I was so angry at her husband for treating her this way. I didn’t see coming any of the plot twists and they were mind blowing. This is a quick, on the edge of your seat book. I loved the book but I couldn’t connect to the characters and I really disliked most of them so it was hard to give it a higher rating but I really enjoyed the ride (ha, get it ;)).

please give me your thoughts about my new format!

5 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / April 2017

Leave a Reply

