Reading wrap up / March 2017

 

Statistics 

(star rating)

Average rating of the month : 3.9 stars

 

(genre & page count)

  • Manga : 1 (279)
  • Contemporary  YA: 2 (320 & 260)
  • Fantasy YA : 1 (470)
  • Historical Fiction (Adult) : 1 (440)
  • Fantasy Adult : 1 (400)
  • Contemporary Adult : 1 (346)

Total page count of the month : 2515

Average page count of the day : 81

 

TID : Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare ,  Hye-Kyung Baek

  • Manga (2 stars)

This was clearly not my cup of tea. I really didn’t like the art style , everything was in black and white. All of the male characters looked the same and I couldn’t distinct them properly. I skimmed the ending because nothing kept me wanting to read the rest. I am in the minority here so I would recommend reading it if you like this kind of art style and TID series. This was sadly a miss for me.

A List of Cages by Robin Roe

  • YA Contemporary (4 stars)

I am not a fan of YA contemporary (I didn’t like Fangirl), I don’t find a lot substance in contemporary for some strange reason. The characters are my age but I can’t relate to them at all. Again, I couldn’t relate to these characters but I loved the 2 main characters. Julian is a cinnamon roll who is shy and still a child (he also has dyslexia). He has some dark secrets at home (trigger warning : physical , emotional abuse). Adam, Julian’s former foster-brother , has to hunt down Julian who keeps avoiding the school psychologist. Julian has ADHD. Julian and Adam rekindle their relationship. Slowly, Adam peels off Julian’s layers and discovers the truth. They become friends and it’s an adorable progression. The side characters are flat and stereotypical for YA contemporary which was my only problem with this book.

 

Heart of Betrayal (Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson

  • YA Fantasy (4.5 stars)
  • sequel to The Kiss of Deception

I have been wanting to read this sequel for ages because The Kiss of Deception ended on a cliffhanger. This was an excellent sequel for me. It’s a set up for the final book but it’s never boring. The political intrigue becomes the main focus in this book. This book shows that politics are not black and white. Lia is a fascinating main character. She is not a warrior but she is smart which is very refreshing. She has to make difficult decisions and you keep guessing her motives. Throughout this whole book , you keep guessing character’s motives. The love triangle is still present in this book but it’s well done. I look forward to reading the final book.

 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

  • Historical Fiction (5 stars)

“If I have learned anything in this long life of mine, it is this: in love we find out who we want to be; in war we find out who we are.”

I cried like a baby reading this book, I am not a book crier so this was unexpected. My short review will never do this book justice so please read it. This book follows 2 sisters that are not very close, they each react differently to WWII. Vianne has a daughter so her priority is to keep her daughter safe in the French countryside. On the other hand, Isabelle who is much younger wants to fight back. Isabelle goes on an adventure and becomes part of a secret rebellion that saves fallen British pilots. Vianne has to live with a German soldier in her house and starts developing feelings for him. Things get complicated when Isabelle and Vianne’s stories get tangled. These sisters grow closer and form this incredible bond. The story explores women’s roles in WWII and it felt empowering. This is such a beautiful story with a few small inaccuracies but still a must read!

 

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

  • Adult Fantasy (4.25 stars)

A great beginning to an epic series. Kell is a traveler who travels between 4 different parallel Londons. He is secretly a smuggler. He is officially The Red Traveler for the royal family. He mysteriously comes in possession of a strange, magical stone that is very dangerous because it comes from Black London. Lila Bard, a thief steals this stone and their adventure starts from there. This story was action packed from the beginning till the end. Lila Bard is a spunky, arrogant character. I loved all of the characters. The world building was a little heavy in the beginning which was why I didn’t give it 5 stars. Looking forward to reading the next installment.

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

  • Adult Contemporary (3.5 stars)

Wavy is a young girl with an intelligence of an adult. She is smart and has to live with a mentally ill mother , cheating & drug dealer father and younger brother. She has a very difficult life for such a young girl but she tries to make the best of her situation. The setting of the book is very well described. I felt like I was living in this small American town where it’s constantly hot. Wavy meets Kellan a tattooed, ex-con with a heart of gold. They have a peculiar bond/relationship that is very wrong but so fascinating. They take care of each other. You have to read this book with an open mind. Their relationship is taboo but you can’t help but support it. It took me a while to read it but I didn’t regret it.

The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

  • YA Contemporary , lgbtq+ , sport (4 stars)

I have become obsessed with this series. We follow Neil Josten , the son of a crime lord called The Butcher. He has been on the run with his mother for a long time. He gets recruited to this sport team called The Foxes. The Foxes are a sports team full of delinquent boys and girls. Exy is a made-up co-ed sport that is a mix between lacrosse and racquetball but as violent as ice hockey. Each player has his/hers issues so because of that there are a lot of trigger warnings (alcohol , drug sport abuse , depression , murder, suicide , homophobia , rape , violence). You get easily attached to all of the characters. Their story is so sad but intriguing to read. It’s also action packed.

14 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / March 2017

  1. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah almost killed me!! So emotional and why does it always have to be WWII????? But I loved All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood 😀 And I have heard quite a bit about The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic – will have to check it out – love the sound of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Nightingale book, is it fast-paced? I don’t read too many historical fiction because I don’t enjoy history but if it’s easy to read and fast-paced, I might give it a try. A beautiful story is hard to pass up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lot of these are on my TBR list… 2, 4, 5, 6! I’m glad you liked them all… The Foxhole Court looks really good too! That’s just my kind of story, a great list you have here… happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

