Reading wrap up / February 2017

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su & Kate Rorick

(400 pages)

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet expands on the web series phenomenon that captivated a generation and reimagines the Pride and Prejudice story like never before.

This was so much better than I could have ever expected. I have watched the series on YouTube and fell in love with the story and the characters. It introduced me to Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. P&P is now one of my favorite books of all time. I am very thankful to this book & video series. The book adds a lot to the videos. You get to read the letter that Darcy wrote for Lizzie (it was so cute). You get a lot of bonus moments between Darcy & Lizzie. I loved this book as much as I loved P&P (which means a lot!). Please read this modern retelling of P&P (and watch the videos on YouTube!).

 

The Summer Garden by Paullina Simons

(742 pages)

Through years of war and devastation, Tatiana and Alexander suffered the worst the twentieth century had to offer. Miraculously reunited in America, they now have a beautiful son, Anthony, the gift of a love strong enough to survive the most terrible upheavals.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this final book in the epic romance trilogy called The Bronze Horseman. I fell in love with The Bronze Horseman 2 years ago. It was my introduction to Historical Romance but since then I have read way more books. I saw/read over these years a lot of negative reviews about The Bronze Horzeman trilogy. I started to see all of its faults. I am a more critical reviewer and I am really scared to re-read this trilogy because I will probably see all of its faults and hate it. This conclusion was a huge disappointment. Alexander (Tatiana’s husband/love intrest) was abusive. He almost cheated on her for ridiculous reasons. Alexander always tried to stop Tatiana from working. He thought that he should be the only one making money for the family. He wanted Tatiana to stay at home , be a good housewife , raise their son and breed more children. He got enraged when Tatiana didn’t get pregnant and worked hard. My feminist self couldn’t deal with this novel.

Prince’s Gambit & Kings Rising & Summer Palace by C.S. Pacat

(404 pages) & (352 pages) & (30 pages)

Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself increasingly drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow…

I continued reading this strange fantasy series. I read the first one a long time ago. I was kind of disgusted by a lot of graphic scenes in this fantasy world. There are only M/M relationships which was great but the first book was about an abusive, disturbing M/M relationship between a slave from its enemy country and the “master” , the prince. The second and third book were wayyy better than the first book. There is a lot of political intrigue and the story line gets very complex and twisted. There were no graphic, disturbing scenes in the second & third book. The last book was my favorite in the series. The novella is a great addition to the series. I highly recommend it if you are okay with reading a mediocre first book.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

(406 pages)

Alina Starkov doesn’t expect much from life. Orphaned by the Border Wars, she is sure of only one thing: her best friend, Mal–and her inconvenient crush on him. Until the day their army regiment enters the Fold, a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. When their convoy is attacked and Mal is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power not even she knew existed.

This first book was kind of a disapointment but it’s my own fault. I set myself up for failure. I had way too high expectations for this book. Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom were my favorite books of last year and I wanted to read the Grisha trilogy because apparently you get a lot more of the world. The plotline was nothing extraordinary , the characters were bland (but I loved the Darkling). I didn’t get attached to anything to make me want to read the next book in the series. The story was a lot of fun to read and didn’t bore me a single moment. There was always some action or something happening. The worldbuilding was really good and that was what I was looking for so I cannot complain. I hope that series gets better. Please tell me if that’s the case.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

(407 pages)

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .

One of my anticipated releases of the year and I enjoyed it a lot. One of my only faults with this book were the characters. They were one dimensional so they didn’t stand out for me. Characters are incredibly important for me to get attached to the story. If the characters are bland , the story won’t matter to me. But the story was very intruiging and kept me guessing. The caraval setting was magical and I really liked this book. For some reason I thought this was a standalone but this is apparently a series. I don’t think I will continue the series because this first book was satisfying for me even though it ended on a cliffhanger.

3 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / February 2017

  1. Oh I’m so glad you liked the secret diary of Lizzie Bennett- I loved that YouTube series so much!! I’ve been meaning to check out the book 😊 and I am looking forward to the rest of the captive prince series, I’ve only read the first one- I’m glad you think it gets better. And I’m really looking forward to caraval! And gotta be honest I have up on the bronze horsemen after the first book- it doesn’t surprise me that the second one was like that! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I am so happy to have found The Lizzie Bennet diaries. The YouTube series is the best thing ever! I really hope you enjoy the rest of the series. I definitely saw a huge improvement. Carnaval is really good but do not have too high expectations because they hype may ruin it. The Bronze Horseman series is such a big disappointment with all of the abuse in the relationship. I love Tatiana but Alexander is a huge NOPE.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

