Reading wrap up / January 2017

The Mortal Instruments #3 , #4 , #5 , #6

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (541 pages)

It’s clear that this could be the “final” book to the first trilogy in TMI. It was an action packed book , full unexpected turns. I really enjoyed this installement and the ending was very intense. Sadly enough, I can’t go in depth with my thoughts because it could spoil a lot.

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare (424 pages)

This was definetly a set up for the second trilogy. There is a “new villain” and the secret is finally revealed so we can develop the relationship between Clary & Jace.

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare  (535 pages)

My favorite book in the TMI series for sure! There is such a strange dynamic between Jace , S. (spoilers) , Clary. It was fascinating to see them interact with each other.

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (725 pages)

Such a satisfying conclusion to TMI! It contains everything that I want to see in a final book. It resolves everything. It has its action packed and slower moments. Cassie is a genius at conclusions.

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare , Sarah Rees Brennan , Maureen Johnson , Robin Wasserman

FULL REVIEW (SPOILERS)

The Host by Stephenie Meyer (620 pages)

Wow this was on my TBR for my Throwback Book Club  (a book from your favorite author you haven’t read yet) and it was so unexpectedly good. This is my new favorite book by Stephenie Meyer. The first 100 pages are hard to get into. You get a lot of information about the “alien invasion” and what these “hosts” are. The book is not focused on the sci-fi, the book is very much focused on the characters and their development. The book has a great balance between the action and the characters. I read this book in 2 days because I was so intrigued by everything. A new favorite. I wished I had notes (I tried while reading) but I couldn’t stop reading it so I will try to write down everything that I remember. If you want to give Stephenie Meyer a second chance , pick up The Host!

5 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / January 2017

  1. Definitely agree that book 3 could’ve been the ending, but you’re right that book 6 was satisfying- glad you enjoyed this series!! And I actually really preferred the Host to Twilight- I found it really creepy and thought it was pretty exciting! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

