Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare *SPOILERS*

  • tales 5/5 stars
  • Novella bind up (after Heavenly Fire, before Lady Midnight)
  • 10 novellas
  • Authors : Cassandra Clare , Sarah Rees Brennan , Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman
  • YA , Fantasy

 

 

 

 

 

Spoiler review 

1.Welcome to the Shadowhunter Academy (4/5)

This first novella was a great introduction to Simon’s journey. It also introduces us to Simon’s struggles , new friends and classes (horrible teachers). This novella is great but isn’t anything special or mindblowing but I strongly encourage everyone to read on if you stopped there.

2. The Lost Herondale (4.5/5)

I am so mad that I didn’t read this novella before reading Lady Midnight. It’s so important because it contains so much backstory for the events in Lady Midnight. Simon’s struggle with his task is so frustrating to read but shows how human Simon is and not-perfect and was very refreshing because shadowhunters are always so ‘perfect’ and good at everything. When Izzy came to claim Simon and he shut her down that was so cringy to read because I knew he was going to regret it later.

3. The Whitechapel Fiend (5/5)

This is the novella that changed everything for me. It was miles above the other ones and has a lot of easter eggs for the next books that Cassandra Clare is going to write. I was ecstatic to read to see more of my favorite characters Tessa , Will & Jem and co. Their children are so cute and I just couldn’t stop fangirling because I finally saw them as parents and I couldn’t handle it. This was such a treat for TID fans. One of the best novellas!

4. Nothing but Shadows (5/5)

Simon’s amnesia was so frustrating to read again but when he stood up for “the dregs” , I found the Simon I loved so much from TMI. We get a glimps into Tessa & Will’ son life when he goes to the Shadowhunter Academy and that was by far one of the best scenes from this bind up. It’s sounds so promising for Cassie’s next series , The Last Hours. I felt so bad for Jamie , he was bullied and felt bad because he wasn’t like his father and I hope to see more of that in TLH. Matthew, Charlotte and Henry’s son was such a jerk in the beginning but slowly we peel off his layers and we really get to know him. Matthew and Jamie’ story was amazing and I can’t wait to read more from them.

5. The Evil We Love (4.5/5)

In this novella we learn about The Circle and how it all started. We follow the members from The Circle at the Shadowhunter Academy. We see how Valentine lies to everyone and manipulates them. Robert Lightwood was such a horrible person in this story. His reaction when Michael (his parabatai) told him he was in love with him was so heartbreaking to read. But we get to know Robert’s backstory and why he is so insecure. I do feel like it redeems him but it’s still not an excuse the way he treated Michael. I do think that Robert had feelings for Michael so that might be the reason why he is distant and bitter with his son Alec.

6. Pale Kings and Princes (4.5/5)

We get to know Andrew Blackthorn’s history with the Seelie Queen. That ending was such an unexpected plot twist. Helen’s story is so heartbreaking. I am so sad to see the way Helen is being treated. This novella was very sad but we get more hopeful for Simon & Izzy. The date was beautiful and I loved it! I was worried this was going to be a disaster again but Simon saved it. It gave me hope for the future.

7. Bitter of Tongue (4.5/5)

Again a novella that adds so much to Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices). We see Mark in the Hunt (and Kieran aaaah). I am disgusted with The Clave, the way they treat Helen and Mark. They really don’t deserve this treatment and when Mark finds out that The Clave left him behind and doesn’t plan on fighting for him that was so sad. We see Helen & Aline getting married and all the Blackthorns are there. Such a bittersweet moment because we know that’s probabely the last time they get to see their big sister Helen. Overall a beautiful novella that packed a punch.

8. The Fiery Trial (3.5/5)

My least favorite novella. Simon is going through this hallucination because Magnus drugged him to see if Clary is his parabatai. The hallucination didn’t make a lot of sense and I didn’t understand what was happening until Magnus told them what he did. The parabatai hallucination/dream was a nive set up for Clary & Simon’s parabatai training.

9. Born to Endless Night (5/5)

We read from Magnus’ POV and Simon’s of course. Simon finds a baby at the Shadowhunter’s doorstep and the note attached to him was heartbreaking. The baby is of course from a demon father and human mother and so not accepted. I knew Magnus & Alec were going to adopt it and raise him as their son. I loved seeing Alec’ protective behaviour with the baby warlock. He melts and tells Magnus all of his feelings. Robert & Maryse fill immediately the roll of being grandparents. Their interactions and their acceptance with the baby was so nice to see. I loved seeing them accept Magnus and Alec together.

10. Angels Twice Descending ( 4.5/5)

A satisfing conclusion to these novella. It concluded Simon’s story and gave us a lot for the next books. Simon’ goobye to his mother was kind of strange but I understand what he did. I wished he could have kept contact with her. I loved seeing Clary and Izzy support Simon with the hard choice he has to make. We see him drink from the cup and I am so happy but the unexpected death of George was so hearbreaking ( and I felt like it was unnecessary).

 

Overall thoughts

This was such a treat to read and you get to know certain character’s story which was great. I highly recommend it!

12 thoughts on “Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare *SPOILERS*

  1. Pingback: Reading wrap up / January 2017 | Marie's library

Leave a Reply

