Reading wrap up / December 2016

City of Bones , City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

I had a hard time getting into City of Bones because there is a lot of world buidling. When I was half way through it , I fell in love with the characters and I couldn’t stop reading. I did find “the plot twist” and the end of City of Bones kind of irritating because I was spoiled for it so it was kind of tiring to see it drag through the next book. City of Ashes was exciting from the beginning. The story and the characters develop. The battle scenes were amazing and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

My second favorite book by Amy Harmon. The story and the characters captured my heart in this book. This book broke my heart when things were revealed so keep some tissues while you’re reading it. Moses is a peculiar character with a very strange ability to see the dead. We follow him throughout his life. The first half is centered around his romance with Georgia. It’s very sweet and lovely but there story goes quickly south and we follow the reprecussions in the second half. I definetly recommend this novel if you like New Adult with a twist.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

In this historic romance, young Elizabeth Bennet strives for love, independence and honesty in the vapid high society of 19th century England.

I fell in love with this classic. I have never enjoyed a classic before and this one became instantly a favorite of all time. I think that everyone knows this story by now. Elizabeth is a character that I related to a lot. Her snarky comments that sometimes end bad were the things that I enjoyed a lot because I have the same problem as her. I sometimes speak my mind and draw my own conclusions without thinking too much. The chemistry between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth is through the roof. I could not help but love the hate to love cliché.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

I was scared going into this book because I heard mixed reviews and also The Lunar Chronicles is one my favorite series ever so I didn’t want to be disppointed by my favorite authors. Heartless was amazing. I really felt like I was in the actual in Wonderworld. The story was whimsical and mesmerizing. The characters were all very true to the original story. Catherine’s story broke my heart. This prequel felt totally believable. I knew how this story was going to end and still I was sad at the end.

2 thoughts on “Reading wrap up / December 2016

    • The Law of Moses is definetley a very unique New Adult book with an unexpected paranormal twist. The romance and mystery intertwine with each other very well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

