Top 10 favorite books / 2016 (‘detailed’ version)

This is the detailed version of my favorite books. I also have a short version that you can find here. My detailed version doesn’t contain any spoilers , I just outline my thoughts and briefly explain what each book is about. I have read over 110 books this year, so this was really difficult list to compile , but I am happy with my final choice. My short version also contains some honorable mentions.These books were not necessarily published in 2016.

1. Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

I don’t know if I can explain to you how much I loved this series. I realised while reading Six of Crows and ACOMAF that I love books that are character driven. This series follows Kaz and his crew trying to pull off an impossible heaist and its reprecussions. The characters are diverse and you will fall in love with every character. They all have a background that you slowly get to know throughout the series. I kept asking myself how they were goint to pull of this impossible heist. The book was perfectly paced. The world , the plot and the characters (and the cover of course) are perfect. They have to break in an impenetrable fortress, free an important prisoner and try not to kill each other. Each of them has his own goals and ambitions, his own agenda, his own life story full of misery and pain. And everything depends on them. We get to read from everyone’s perspective so you will get attached to them. The characters are morally grey and far from perfect but I think that is what makes them so fascinating. But darkness is not all you get. There is an extremely high dose of sassiness and the dialogues are witty and crack you up. There is also romance, which doesn’t overshadow the story but satisfies the hopeless romantics of the world (including me, obviously).I am definetely going to reread this series next year and read the Grisha trilogy. Please do yourself a favor and pick this series up.

ME AFTER READING THIS SERIES

ugly-cry

2. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

If you want to know all of my thoughts about this sequel  ,check out my review.

I debated a long time if this was my first or second favorite book of the year and still after months I am not sure. Feyre’s character development is incredible and I loved it! The world building and discovering the different courts was really great. Rhysand is my husband and he is mine. I am trash for this series. I am obsessed please help me. I can’t say a lot about this book because I don’t want to spoil ACOTAR for the people that haven’t gotten to it yet so please check out my review.

This picture describes their relationship (Rhysand & Feyre)

we-are-groot

(If you don’t get this reference ,watch guardians of the galaxy now!)

3. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

One of the best books I have ever read! The beginning of the series wasn’t strongest in my opnion but after Clockwork Angel, I fell in love with this trilogy. I was attached to all the characters. I ship all the couples so much. I have never been so attachted to characters before. This finale book is perfect in my opinion. The plot gets darker and the romance keeps you on the edge of your seat. I felt so bad for Will and Jem because I loved them both for different reasons so I couldn’t decibe which one should end up with Tessa. There wasn’t a dull page in this book , it was action packed. I cannot go deeper in to my thoughts because I would spoil the ending but I am going to reread it and write a review.  The ending and the epilogue of this book was one of the most satisfying things that I have ever read. I cannot wait for The Last Hours.

4. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

This was the year I discovered Cassandra Clare’s books. In the beginning, I had my doubts but I quickly fell in love with the shadowhunter world. I did not read TMI before reading Lady Midgnight (I know I spoiled myself). I am currenlty reading TMI and loving the series. Lady Midnight had one of my favorite tropes (“Forbidden Love”). The whole Blacktorn family was so loveable. I really liked that the main character because she already knew the shadowhunter world. The plot twist at the end was so unexpected.  The battles with the demons and plot was really good. The murders were fascinating and kept me intrigued. This book contains one of my favorite scenes ever (the scene at the theater).

5. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

The main character and the world building were the things that stood out for me , these aspects make this series unique. The world building is outstanding, you slowly peel off each layer with the main character. Karou was a strong and unique main character , I related so much to her. The mystery surrounding her past and existence was intriguing and kept me guessing till the end. The love story (again “Forbidden Love” trope) was kind of insta love but redeemed itself later on. Laini Taylor’s writing style is poetic (but not too much) and beautiful. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series.

6. Making Faces by Amy Harmon

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl.

I thought that this book was going to be a cliché beauty and the beast retelling but I was so wrong! This was such an unique New Adult book that really stands out. It is self published so that makes also very special (self published New Adult are often bad). The romance is slow burning and not doesn’t overshadow the whole story. This book is about so much more than a love story. If you don’t read a lot or have never read New Adult , I highly recommend starting with Amy Harmon. Amy’s writing style is stunning and out of this world. I really think you should go into it not knowing too much.

7. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

Book two of the dazzling Winner’s Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.

What a crazy but incredible series. This is the sequel to The Winner’s Curse so I can’t say a lot but this was the best book in the series. The political strategy was very strong in this one and I loved it. Kestrel is not physically strong but she is so smart , which was very refreshing to read from. The tension and the secrets in this book were suffocating but in a good way. They kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t stop reading it. I highly recommend this series. .Marie Rutkoski’s writing is so rich,filled with so many unspoken yet powerful emotions.She presented her heroes’ choices and dilemmas with such clarity that I thought it was me the one who eventually had to take matters in my own hands.

8. The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny.

Such a satisfying conclusion to one of my favorite reads of last year. This book was everything that I wish for in a conclusion. It didn’t left me with questions , it wrapped up the series perfectly. Again I can’t say a lot because it’s a sequel but please read this duology. It is heavy in romance so if you don’t like romance I woudn’t recommend it. The main character is strong and I loved her. The side characters are also incredible.The relationship between Khalid and Shahrzad was beautiful. Their understanding and faith in each other were so touching they made my blood sing. They were lovers, friends, husband and wife, allies, equals. Khalid struggled to find his way back to light, but he never shied away from all the ugly things he did.

9. And I Darken by Kiersten White

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival.

A lot of people didn’t love this book because it’s slow paced but I had no problem with that. I actually love slow paced books. This one is heavy in political intrigue so of course I loved that. This book is dark and it doesn’t shy away from gruesome stuff. We follow Lada and Radul (siblings) throughout their life. The book starts when they are born and how they grow up. Lada is a vicious and a strong main character. The author discusses a lot of interesting topics like women and their role (in the Islam but also politically)  , religion and sexual preference (lgbtq). This book was diverse and really tackles some very senstive topics. Radul questions his sexuality. Vlada and Radul are both in love with Mehmed (the heir to the Ottoman empire). Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion. Together they form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

 10. The Island by Victoria Hislop

On the brink of a life-changing decision, Alexis Fielding longs to find out about her mother’s past. But Sofia has never spoken of it. All she admits to is growing up in a small Cretan village before moving to London. When Alexis decides to visit Crete, however, Sofia gives her daughter a letter to take to an old friend, and promises that through her she will learn more.

After watching the TV series on Mega (Greek channel) I had to read the book. My ultimate OTP comes from this series (Maria & Kyritsis).

maria

This book gave me all the feelings and broke my heart in a thousand pieces. This book is filled with drama and heartbreak so be prepared and buy some tissues. Some characters are unlikable but most of them are wonderful. This book follows a mother with lepra that is sent to an island (because they didn’t have a cure) and her daughers.

Check out my favorites from last year here.

16 thoughts on “Top 10 favorite books / 2016 (‘detailed’ version)

  1. Pingback: Top 10 favorite books + honorable mentions / 2016 ★★★★★ (short version) | Marie's library

  2. Great picks! I also loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Six of Crows… and I really must read the Wrath and the Dawn, I’ve heard so many good things about it, and if you say the second/final book ends the story perfectly that’s another good reason to pick it up (there’s nothing more disappointing than an unsatisfying conclusion to a good series).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag – Kayla @ Kdrewkthebookworm

  4. Pingback: Spring TBR / 20 March – 21 June 2017 | Marie's library

Leave a Reply

