A late reading wrap up / October 2016

October wrap up

I read 9 books in October! My favorite books were Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and le blue est une couleur chaude by Julie Maroh (read in French , blue is the warmest couleur).

I reread one book  , The Deal by Elle Kennedy. It’s one of my favorite New Adult books , I highly recommend it if you love funny New Adult books with the “friends with benefits start having feelings for each other” cliché. The Deal discusses some importants topics like rape and physical abuse. The author discusses these topics with respect and acknowledges them! Physical abuse is often used in New Adult to excuse a mean , rude (male) character because he had a “dark” past (these male charcters are often emotionally abusive to the female in the story).In The Deal , the character who has an emotional past isn’t a jerk and talks about it , which is so refreshing to read!

I read King by T.M. Frazier which is a  popular New Adult book full with clichés. It wasn’t anything special but I enjoyed it. There were some scenes that rubbed me the wrong way so that’s why it only gets 3 stars.

Paper Princess and Broken Prince by Erin Watt were very fluffy , enjoyable reads. Again , there is a main abusive male character that cliché really irritates me. It’s overdone in New Adult. They marketed as “Young Adult” but I think they are New Adult. The characters are in high school but that doesn’t mean the book is Young Adult.

The most original Young Adult book that I have read this year is And I Darken by Kiersten White. It was refreshing and exciting. The characters are diverse (religion , lgbtq+). I listened to the book mostly on audiobook, the narrator is incredible! The story was slower paced that’s why I took half a star off. I highly recommend it!

Helaasheid der dingen by Dimitri Verhulst , required reading for my Dutch class and I hated it. I don’t know how this book got published.

Next year , I will reread the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo to write a full review. I loved Crooked Kingdom so much. I am in love with all the characters and this final book is one of my favorite books of the year.

Books mentioned 

Leave a Reply

