Holiday wrap up / August 2016

What did I read in Greece?

You can find my TBR here.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

★★★★★

★★★★★

First, I read The Raven King. This last installment is my favorite by far. I listened to the first half of the audiobook and it gripped me immediately. My overall “problem” with this series is the writing style. I have a hard time getting used to it. That is why I don’t remember a lot from the scenes that I want to discuss later. The writing style is very poetic so listening to it really helped me to remember a lot. This was a great ending to a very unique series.

You can find my series review here. (spoilers!)

Fantastical by Kristen Ashley

13005310

★★★

This was a okay-read , nothing special but entertaining. This is the third book in the Fantasyland series. Kristen Ashley has created a very interesting world. This book didn’t grip me as much as the first two books. There was so much back and forth , this made the characters annoying.

Cora Goode has woken up in a fairytale world where she can understand what birds are saying to her, men ride horses and have fluffy feathers in their hats and furniture zigs, zags and whirls in miracles of construction.

Making Faces by Amy Harmon 

27237358 (1)

★★★★★

My favorite read! After reading a lot of New Adult , you kind of know a lot op story lines and nothing is original anymore. I was so wrong…
This book went straight to my favorites shelf. This book is like nothing I have ever read before. This book shows that beauty on the inside is more important than the outside . After reading this book , I felt like a different person. This was such an eye opening book that changes your perception on life. This quote summaries the book for me.

True beauty, the kind that doesn’t fade or wash off, takes time. It takes incredible endurance. It is the slow drip that creates the stalactite, the shaking of the Earth that creates mountains, the constant pounding of the waves that breaks up the rocks and smooths the rough edges. And from the violence, the furor, the raging of the winds, the roaring of the waters, something better emerges, something that would have otherwise never existed.
And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent, our bodies can’t contain it.

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover 

August 2nd

August 2nd ★★★★★

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Colleen Hoover recommends going into it blind so do that. I will probably do a review with spoilers so that I can give more away. I might do a giveaway for this book… tell me if you are interested! This such an important read that I highly recommend.

Fisher’s light by Tara Sivec

24699867

★★★★

I read this book because the synopsis intrigued me so much , I just had to read it.

Fisher,
I guess this is it, huh? After fourteen years together, starting a life of our own on this island, five deployments and countless letters I’ve written you through it all, I finally go out to the mailbox and see something I’ve always dreamed of: an envelope with your handwriting on it. For one moment, I actually thought you’d changed your mind, that all the awful things you said to me were just your way of coping after everything you’d been through. I was still here, Fisher. I was still here, holding my breath, waiting for you to come back even though you told me you never would. You always said you’d find your way back to me. Out of all the lies you’ve told me, this one hurts the most.

Enclosed you will find the signed divorce papers, as requested.
I hope you find what you’re looking for. I’m sorry it wasn’t me.
Lucy

intrigued? I was.

This was an incredible book that really touched me. The only reason I didn’t give this book 5 stars is because the story’s progression (resolving) was a little too late for (80% into the book) me. But PTSD was realistically (I think) portrayed and was an interesting plot point. The characters were very enjoyable but the girl (Lucy) was a little too perfect for my taste. The story is quite dramatic but a very enjoyable read.

One thought on “Holiday wrap up / August 2016

  1. Pingback: Reading wrap-up / August 2016 | Marie's library

Leave a Reply

