A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) / book review

17927395

  • 5/5
  • Fantasy , New Adult(ish)

Book review (spoilers!)

Let me start this review by confessing that I bought 2 copies of this wonderful book (UK paperback & US hardback). That’s how much I loved this book. Last year I read ACOTAR and it was my second favorite book of 2015. I bought the UK paperback so I could reread this gem of a book and annotate it. I haven’t gotten the time yet to do this but I absolutely wanted to write a review about this book , I couldn’t wait any longer! I had to get my feelings out. After reading this book I am afraid my expectations will be to high. I am afraid nothing is going to live up to ACOMAF.

Backstory on this series & book

Originally it was going to be a trilogy but now it is going to be 8 book series! (what?!!) The throne of glass series isn’t going to be that long. That is great news but also a little annoying. Now , I am very invested in this series but I don’t know if I will be able to continue reading this series for 6 years. I will be in university , my reading might change (and my life). I don’t know if I will be able to keep up with this series. Does someone also start series that will be published before they go to university? I do this. I am afraid I might get financially & emotionally invested in a series and not be able to finish it.

My actual review (feelings)

It has been a month since reading ACOMAF and I still can’t stop thinking about these characters. ACOMAF starts immediately after ACOTAR. If you don’t remember the previous book , I would recommend rereading it. I reread ACOTAR before reading ACOMAF and I understood every struggle that Feyre was going through way better. I forgot how horrible it was under the mountain but now I remember. I loved how Feyre was realistically portrayed (PTSD). She was emotionally scared after the events from under the mountain and those were not brushed aside or glossed over. They were part of the story & plot. I immediatley hated the way Tamlin treated Feyre like she was a fragil trophy. I partly understand Tamlin’s actions (He wants to protect her) but he was wrong. I love the way Rhysand comes into the story. He just shows up in the middle of Feyre & Tamlin’s wedding. (hilarious) Rhysand brought Feyre to his court. Rhysand’s secret court is amazing!When he introduces his gang , I was immediatley paring them with Feyre’s sisters. I just couldn’t help myself I had to form ships and see if they were actually real. Rhysand’s little gang was vert welcoming and lovely to Feyre which I really appreciated.

I love the reveal at the end (Feyre & Rhysand are mates!!!) I saw it coming but when Rhysand found Feyre in his hut and explained everything , I just started crying . The way Rhysand described his feelings and told the complete story was breathtaking. The few steamy scenes that followed afterwards were so satisfying. The ending was so exciting and unexpected! When the king of Hybern was there with Tamlin & Lucien, I couldn’t believe it. And when the king brought the Cauldron & Feyre’s sisters , my biggest nightmare came true. When he changed the sisters and “broke” Feyre’s bound with Rhysand I was so stressed and in agony ,I couldn’t read on. It felt like my heart was being ripped out and stomped on.

I really want to meet Sarah J. Maas one day and thank her for this amazing book. Share your feelings in the comments!

4 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) / book review

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out / Book Tag ’16 | Marie's library

  2. Pingback: Top 10 favorite books + honorable mentions / 2016 ★★★★★ (short version) | Marie's library

  3. Pingback: Top 10 favorite books / 2016 (‘detailed’ version) | Marie's library

  4. Pingback: Reading wrap up / April 2017 | Marie's library

Leave a Reply

